Speaker, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly

Dr. C.P. Joshi

Personal Details

Father's Name Shri Bhudev Prasad Joshi Date of Birth 29 July, 1950
Place of Birth Village - Nathdwara, District Rajsamand Marital Status Married
Educational Qualifications M.Sc.(Physics), M.A. (Psychology), LL.B., Ph.D Profession Professor
Constituency Nathdwara, Distt. Rajsamand Party Indian National Congress (INC)

Membership of Legislature

1980 - 1985 Member, 7th Rajasthan Legislative Assembly
1985 - 1990 Member, 8th Rajasthan Legislative Assembly
1998 - 2003 Member, 11th Rajasthan Legislative Assembly
2003 - 2008 Member, 12th Rajasthan Legislative Assembly
2009 - 2014 Member, 15th Lok Sabha (Bhilwara Parliamentary Constituency)
2018 - Cont. Member, 15th Rajasthan Legislative Assembly.

Positions Held

1980 - 1983 Member, Estimates Committee ‘B’, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly
1982 - 1985 Member, Consultative Committee on Finance, Taxation, Excise, Education, Language, Waqf Department, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly
1983 - 1988 Member, Committee on Public Accounts, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly
1985 - 1990 Chairman, Committee on Privileges, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly
1998 - 2003 (a) Minister (7.12.1998 to 14.5.2002) (1) Rural Development and Panchayati Raj, (2) Specific Planning Organization, (3) Integrated Rural Development, (4) Primary and Secondary Education, (5) Language, (6) College and University Education and (7) Technical Education
(b) Minister (14.5.2002 to 25.1.2003) Policy Making
(c) Minister (14.5.2002 to 04.12.2003 (1) Planning (Manpower), (2) Economic and Statistics, (3) Public Health Engineering, (4) Ground Water, (5) Science and Technology and (6) Information Technology and Communication, Govt. of Rajasthan
2004 - 2005 Member, Committee on Public Undertakings, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly Chairman, Committee on Public Accounts, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly
2009 - 2013 (a) Union Minister (22 May 2009 - 18 Jan 2011) Rural Development and Panchayati Raj
(b) Union Minister (19 Jan 2011 - 15 Jun 2013) Road Transport and Highways
(c) Union Minister (22 Sep 2012 - 28 Oct 2012) Railways (Additional Charge)
(d) Union Minister (11 May 2013 - 15 Jun 2013) Railways (Additional Charge)
2019 - Cont. Speaker, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly (16.01.2019 to cont.)
Chairman - Committee of Presiding Officers to examine the matter of Financial Independence of Legislature Secretariats.
Chairman - Committee of Presiding Officers to Review the Powers of Presiding Officers under the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution and the Rules made thereunder.
2021 Member - Standing Committee of the All India Presiding Officers' Conference.

Political Positions

General Secretary Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee
Member All India Congress Committee
President Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee
General Secretary
All India Congress Committee
General Secretary Incharge Bihar, West Bengal, Assam, Mizoram, Tripura, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagalanad, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Andanman & Nicobar
Chairman of State Screening Committee Punjab & Gujarat
Spoke Person All India Congress Committee

Participated in Seminars

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (Rajasthan Branch) Seminars
2019 Changing Nature of Parliamentary Democracy in India
2020 Role of Speaker under 10th Schedule of the Constitution
2021 Global Pandemic and Challenges to Democracy
Parliamentary System and People's Expectations
Youth Parliament
2022 Role of Governor and Legislators in furtherance of Parliamentary Democracy
75 Years of Parliamentary Democracy
Felicitation ceremony of Shri Jagdeep Dhankhar, Hon'ble Vice President of India

Participated in Conferences

1. 79th All India Legislative Assembly Presiding Officers Conference (AIPOC) in Dehradun (Uttarakhand) in December, 2019
2. 80th All India Legislative Assembly Presiding Officers Conference (AIPOC) in Kevadiya (Gujrat) in November, 2020
3. 81th All India Legislative Assembly Presiding Officers Conference (AIPOC) in Virtual Mode (New Delhi) in September, 2021
4. 82th All India Legislative Assembly Presiding Officers Conference (AIPOC) in Shimla (Himachal Pradesh) in November, 2021

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Rajasthan Branch in CPA Conferences

1. Participated in 7th CPA India Reg. Conference held at Lucknow (India) in Year 2020
2. Participated in 8th CPA India Reg. Conference held at Guwahati (India) in Year 2022
3. Participated in 56th Society of Clerks at the Table (CPA Conference) held at Halifax, Nova Scotia (Canada) in Year 2022


(1) Professor - Mohanlal Shukhadia University, Udaipur
(2) Member - Syndicate, Rajasthan University
(3) Member - Board of Management, Udaipur University, Udaipur
(4) Member - Consultative Committee on Tendu Leaves
(5) President - Rajasthan Cricket Association (RCA)
(6) Chairman - Rajsamand Urban Cooperative Bank

Foreign Visits

Bangladesh, Norway, Britain, Spain, Portugal, Canada, China, USA, Netherland and Switzerland


2022 Ideal Legislative Assembly Speaker Award in 12th Indian Student Parliament, Pune


Permanent Address A-621, Govind Marg, Malviya Nagar, Jaipur - 302 017 (Rajasthan)
Present Address 49, Civil Lines, Jaipur - 302 006 (Rajasthan)
Phone No. +91-141-2744321 (Office), +91-141-2521666 (R), Mobile No. +91-98290 66778
Fax No. +91-141-2744321, 2744333, 2744334 (Office)
eMail speaker-rajassembly[at]nic[dot]in, rajassembly[at]nic[dot]in, cpj[at]cpjoshi[dot]com